Donkhard.com Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Online Poker Rooms

when to play what cards and in which position

Go down

when to play what cards and in which position Empty when to play what cards and in which position

Post by mccloskey Sat Nov 01, 2008 2:24 pm

hi i decided o start his thread and i probably understand most of you are highly polished poker players so will not need to be told this but i dont mean to be patronising just thought id post a little helpful topic for beginners of the game ...i am by no means an expert far from it lol

right i watched a video on basic stratergy by gus hansen not long back,{probably not the best example of a poker pro to learn from but his points were valid,he discussed about knowing ,how do you know when to play what cards your dealt and i what cards in which positon and he came up with a handy way for you to remember and i find if you stick to this consistently and bearwith it it will help your game and stop those know it alls always calling you a donk when you really dont mean to be,your just underinformed lol..

for starters imgaine each card has a value ace being 14 and a deuce being 2 , now the two cards you are dealt should relate in added value to the position your are in example if our in first position try and only play hands that add up to at least over 21 ie j10 minimum, really though try and make the early position total about 23 24 then as you move up the positions drop the limit on the added value of your cards to say middle position depending on how tight you wana play 19 so you could play 10 9 there,